Skip to content

The Mainstream Core Standards

This page sets out the Kent Mainstream Core Standards (MCS)

High quality teaching, differentiated for individual pupils is the first step in responding to pupils who have or may have SEN. The MCS are a suite of documents to inform and steer your SEN practice.

The MCS reflect the 4 broad areas of need; communication and interaction; cognition and learning; social, emotional and mental health difficulties; and sensory and/or physical needs.The documents (below) are intended to ensure the most appropriate intervention for an individual so that they can make progress both in their well-being and attainment at school, and to evidence school's best endeavours.

PDF versions:

Word versions:

The following documents support the use of the MCS